• Helped allocate $5 million for outreach and prevention education to raise awareness during a measles outbreak and encourage vaccines
  • Allocated $400,000 to the Somali Museum of Arts and $350,000 for the expansion and renovation of the Brian Coyle Community Center in the Cedar Riverside neighborhood
  • Passed legislation to increase funding summer enrichment programs for low income students who may be unfamiliar with a higher education experience
  • Passed $77 million in Statewide Affordable Housing and Homelessness Infrastructure bonds to improve housing, including $10 million for Public Housing Rehabilitation
  • Expanded childcare grants for student parents and fought for them to receive a tax credit
  • Negotiated over $200 million in bonding packages to improve our infrastructure in district
  • Passed $15 and paid sick and safe time in Minneapolis
  • Introduced HF 4201, requiring a counselor in every school in Minnesota
  • Introduced HF 3434, eliminating the statute of limitations for sex offenses
  • Introduced HF 2949, changing lease requirements to fight student exploitation
  • Introduced HF 2630, funding the prevention of measles outbreaks in immigrant communities

Constituent Services

  • Rallied 2,000+ neighbors to oppose Trump’s immigration ban, strengthening Minnesota’s role in the lawsuit to oppose the travel ban
  • Served 500+ neighbors with immigration resource fair
  • Organized a “Know your Rights” training for Minneapolis-area immigrants
  • Held regular in-district office hours and community forums, including her signature “Coffee and Kulan” events, connecting with over 1,000 constituents in her first term
  • Led caucus trainings to improve the political participation of college students in her district
  • Opened a first of its kind in-district office for constituent services

Electoral Organizing

  • Increased 2016 voter turnout by 37% in her district
  • Hired canvassers and adopted 10 swing districts for MN DFL House and Senate candidates in the 2016 general election, knocking on 2,000+ doors in St. Cloud, Faribault, Willmar, and other cities across Minnesota
  • Supported progressive candidates who backed a higher minimum wage and smart housing policy in the 2017 Municipal Election and helped secure a progressive majority on the Minneapolis City Council and Minneapolis Park Board

Awards and Recognition

  • "Commitment to Service Award," Governor Dayton's Council on the Martin Luther King Jr Holiday
  • "Champion of Change Award," Minnesota Urban Debate League, Given for being a catalyst for change in our community through advancement of effective policy and a more engaged community
  • "The Jeanne and Joseph Sullivan Award," National Immigrant Justice Center (NIJC), Given for commitment to advancing human rights and women's leadership
  • "Olga Zoltai Award," International Institute of MN, Given in recognition of outstanding community leadership by, or in service to, New Americans
  • "Hall of Fame Award," National Association of Women's Business Owners, Given for excellent female advancement of Business Leadership
  • "Public Service Award," University of Minnesota Somali Student Association, Given for outstanding work in the community
  • "Torchbearer Award," African Network of Southwest Florida (ANSWFL), Given for outstanding leadership and role modeling to people of African Diaspora
  • 2018 "Citizen of the Year" Award, Minneapolis Rotary Club
  • Inducted to the DFL Women’s Hall of Fame in 2010