Ilhan Omar is best prepared to unite diverse District 60B

Dear Friend,

Prior to Ilhan's campaign, it was unusual for long-time residents, New Americans, and students in this district to talk to each other, much less work together for a common goal.

Read our commentary, "Ilhan Omar is best prepared to unite diverse District 60B" that was published today by the Star Tribune.

Ilhan's campaign has built solidarity between these groups, and is a promise of what our district can become: a united community that leads the way in advancing our shared progressive values. Ilhan is the coalition builder we need at the capitol.

The primary is THIS TUESDAY, AUGUST 9. Click here to find out about early voting tomorrow.

Or click here to find your polling location on Tuesday.

Ilhan has a unique understanding of the issues that matter to District 60B as a result of the extensive conversations she has had with community members in all neighborhoods. The ability to listen deeply and build collaborative relationships between people of different backgrounds is characteristic of her leadership and is a critical skill in a district as diverse as ours and a legislature as fractured as Minnesota's. She has a strong list of endorsements and earned the support of 55% of delegates at the District 60 Convention.

When we cast our votes for Ilhan Omar on Tuesday, we will be voting for the progressive champion. A vote for Ilhan is a vote to close the opportunity gap and advance an agenda focused on economic, social, racial and environmental justice. It's a vote for a district where every resident will feel they are heard and respected -- it's time for all our voices to be heard.

Be a part of history. Vote for Ilhan.

Forward together,

Ann Gilbert, Seward Neighborhood Resident
Abdirizak Bihi, Somali Community Leader and Cedar Riverside Neighborhood Resident
Noah Shavit-Lonstein, University of Minnesota student


Ilhan is endorsed by:

Senator Scott Dibble

Senator Patricia Torres Ray

Minneapolis City Council Members Lisa Bender, Alondra Cano, Andrew Johnson

Former Mayor & DNC Vice Chair R.T. Rybak

Minnesota Nurses Association

TakeAction Minnesota

OutFront Minnesota Action

AFSCME Local 8

African American DFL Caucus

DFL Feminist Caucus


Somali-American DFL Caucus

Stonewall DFL

Minneapolis School Board Members Carla Bates, Kim Ellison, Josh Reimnitz

Former Chair, Minneapolis School Board Richard Mammen

Former Minneapolis School Board Member Jill Davis

UMN Student Body President Abeer Syedah & Vice President Sam Marlow

Former Minnesota Student Association President Joelle Stangler

Minneapolis Park Board Commissioner Brad Bourn

Minneapolis Board of Taxation and Estimation Board Member Carol Becker

Minneapolis NAACP President & St. Thomas Professor Nekima Levy Pounds

St. Louis Park Council Member Anne Mavity

St. Paul Public School Board Members Zuki Ellis, Steve Marchese

Jordan Anderson, Kyra Brown, Audrey Callahan, Carter Christensen, William Dane, Alaina Friedrich, Ann Gilbert, Deneen Hanzlik, Bob Hulteen, Amber Jones, Nicholas Kor, Brooke Magid-Hart, Lulete Mola, Jack Nelson-Pallmeyer, Charlie Parker, Jordan Parshall, Felicia Philibert, Cordelia Pierson, Matthew Ogbeifun, Pete Rode, Anne Hibbard, Noah Shavit-Lonstein, Amy Shellabarger, Eva Shellabarger, Michael Stoesz, Kyle Smestad, Lecia Stock, Kris Felbeck, Jessica Wilson, David Gilbert-Pederson, Ben Krouse-Gagne, Laura Dahl, Nick French, Lance Pemberton, Nate Gessesse, Mitchell Goedken, Lea Graber, Samuel Graf, Shaye Heyman, Travis Hochsprung, Megan Mahony, Jacob Maxon, Jia Mikules, Erin Niehoff, John Ouellette-Howitz, Ryan Pohler, Renate Willer, Henry Zurn, Ahmed Hirsi, Muhim Abdi, Liz & Carly McCambridge, Mohamed Ali, Kali Mohamed, Abdirahman kahin, Justin Halverson, Jasmine Gill, Elizabeth Morgan, Mahad Indhodeero, Nur Mohamed, Sahra Noor, Habon Abdulle, Ubah Jama, Laura Dahl, Tyler Fritze, Nate Gessesse, Mitchell Goedken, McCartney Goff, Lea Graber, Samuel Graf, Coleton Hanson, Savannah Hanson, Shaye Heyman, Travis Hochsprung, Amogh Pradip Kambale, Ericka Lynch, Megan Mahony, Jacob Maxon, Brigid McBride, Jia Mikuls, Erin Niehoff, Scout Ober, Matthew Ogbeifun, John Ouellette-Howitz, Lillian Ouellette-Howitz, Ryan Poehler, Kellen Renstrom, Daniel Russell, Renate Willer, Amanda Yourd, Henry Zurn, Winnie Zwick, Isra Hirsi, Megan Nelson